Monday, December 22, 2008

United States Court of Appeals Districts

There are currently 13 Different Federal Circuit Courts of Appeals in the United States. Each circuit Court of Appeals is in charge of hearing cases from a set number of States in the Union.
United States Federal Circuit Courts of Appeals hear appeals from Federal civil cases as well as from Federal Criminal cases. They also hear appeals from bankrupcy courts, tax courts and decisions made by Federal Administrative Agencies. The list of States that belongs to each Federal Circuit is determined by Title 28 U.S. Code, § 41.
The 13 Circuits

Map showing the what states belong to which Federal circuit Court of Appeals
  1. Main
  2. Massachusetts
  3. New Hampshire
  4. Rhode Island
  5. Puerto Rico
  1. Conneticut
  2. New York
  3. Vermont
  1. Delaware
  2. New Jersey
  3. Pennsylvania
  4. Virgin Islands
  1. South Carolina
  2. North Carolina
  3. Virginia
  4. West Virginia
  5. Maryland
  1. Louisiana
  2. Mississippi
  3. Texas
  4. Panama Canal Zone
  1. Kentucky
  2. Michigan
  3. Ohio
  4. Tennessee
  1. Illinois
  2. Indiana
  3. Wisconsin
  1. Arkansas
  2. Iowa
  3. Minnesota
  4. Nebraska
  5. North Dakota
  6. South Dakota
  7. Missouri
  1. Arizona
  2. California
  3. Idaho
  4. Montana
  5. Nevada
  6. Oregon
  7. Washington State
  8. Alaska
  9. Hawaii
  10. Guam
  1. Colorado
  2. Kansas
  3. New Mexico
  4. Oklahoma
  5. Utah
  6. Wyoming
  1. Alabama
  2. Florida
  3. Georgia
  • Judicial District Court of Appeals:
  1. District of Columbia
  1. Covers all Federal Judicial Districts
Each of the above United States Courts of Appeals are in charge of hearing appeals from a set number of Districts assigned to them. There are currently 94 districts. 89 of those districts are found within the 50 states. The other 5 districts are for cases stemming from locations such as Guam, The Virgin Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and The District of Columbia.
You can find what District you belong to as well as the specific Court you need to file your initial case in, by simply typing in your zip code in the search filter.

No comments:

Post a Comment